First Appointment with a Bankruptcy Lawyer
Which ones to bring
Although it might seem like quite an inconvenience to have to round up records and documents, it’s worth remembering that these disclosures are required by the bankruptcy law before the court will grant you a discharge of your debts. And in fact, before your case even gets to that point, your petition will be reviewed for completeness of disclosure by the case trustee, who will supplement his or her actual reading of your petition with a number of verbal questions at the creditors’ meeting*, including a summary question along the lines of: “Does your petition accurately and fully list all assets and liabilities?”
Aggravated Assault - We Can Help You
What is Aggravated Assault
“Aggravated Assault” – what is it? Under Pennsylvania law, there are nine categories of acts that fall under the general heading Aggravated Assault. The vast majority of cases, however, fall into just two of those categories. Those two categories are, to paraphrase the Pennsylvania Crimes Code, (1) to cause or attempt to cause serious bodily harm to another, or (2) to cause or attempt to cause bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon.
Chapter 7 and 13
Chapter 7 and Chapter 13 Help
Chapter 7, sometimes referred to as “straight”, or “liquidation” bankruptcy, is designed for debtors (individuals like you) in financial difficulty who do not have the ability to pay their existing debts. The main purpose of bankruptcy law is, in fact, to give to a person who is hopelessly burdened with debt a ‘fresh start’ by wiping out his or her debts.
Chapter 13 bankruptcy, also known as a “reorganization bankruptcy”, is filed by debtors who have enough disposable income to pay off a portion, generally at least twenty percent, of their debts over a period not exceeding five years. Typical repayment plan periods are 3, 4, or 5 years. This type of chapter 13 bankruptcy makes sense for those who have, and want to keep, property with a fair market value in excess of the statutory exemption limits (for example, the exemption limit for jewelry is $1,600; for household goods, furnishings, and appliances it’s $12,625).